College Fields The nursing home where caring comes first  -

 at -  Barry, Vale of Glamorgan

Home Events Facilities Staff Small print contact

Long service awards 2013

Rhian Huws Williams the chief executive of the Care Council for Wales kindly presented long service awards to loyal members of staff who have been giving their expertise to make residents’ lives fulfilling for a number of years. The awards are made to landmark years of 10, 15 and 20 year’s service.

The event then proceeded with a celebration buffet for all and for the residents and guests there was professional entertainment in the afternoon.  All in all a very enjoyable day for everyone.

In an industry where typically there is a problem in recruiting motivated staff and then retaining them , the fact that over half of the team at College Fields have been in post for over ten years is more remarkable.

To join in the celebrations all the residents who were able and wished to join in did so as did other members of the team who came in for the occasion.  Also our valued volunteers joined us including Sophie the ‘pets as therapy’ dog who comes regularly.

The day was made more special by the presence of dignitaries from Vale of Glamorgan Council with Councillor Stuart Egan deputy leader and having responsibility for older people in the Vale, and Carys Lord in charge of older person’s services in the Vale. Vicky Lloyd, a director of Age Cymru and John Moore the Wales lead for the My Home life project also were in attendance as was David Pritchard from Welsh Government who is leading on the upcoming white paper on Inspection and Regulation. Melanie Minty policy adviser from Care Forum Wales was also with us as were CFW council members (and local providers) Keri Llewellyn of All Care, Brian West from Hebron Hall who also sits on the Care Council for Wales and Anthony Acari who specialises in health and safety.

Members of staff who received awards were

20 years service

Gail Williams

15 years service

Sue Maunders and Jacqueline Brooker

10 years service

Damien Williams, Lorna Davies,Jane Morris, Nick Williams, Alison Coolmeister, and Elaine Dyke

Also due to receive awards but unable to attend were Rhian Evans-Cooper, Katrina Cooke and Simi Sebastian